Jon Murphy 1(Website).jpg

Jonathan David Murphy, 60 Non-executive Chairman

Jon Murphy was appointed as Chairman in September 2013 and has over 30 years' of experience in the mid-cap exploration and production industry. Jon holds a BSc. in Geology from the University of London. His career includes several years with Lasmo where he held various positions in geology, planning and new business, and in 1999 he joined Venture Production plc as Chief Operating Officer where he remained until Venture's sale in 2009. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Trinity Exploration and Production plc.

Keith Bush 2 (Website).jpg


Keith Richard Bush, 46 Chief Executive Officer

Keith Bush joined Northern in May 2012 as Chief Operating Officer, he was appointed to the Board in November the same year, and was made Chief Executive Officer in July 2013. Keith gained a degree in Physics and has over 20 years' industry experience. Commencing his career with Western Atlas Logging Services, Keith progressed to hold managerial positions in Amerada Hess, Burlington Resources and was most recently employed as General Manager Operations for E.ON Ruhrgas in Norway. Keith has extensive experience in the North Sea, North Africa and Norway.

Nick Morgan 1(Website).jpg

Nicholas Talbot Morgan, 42 Finance Director

Nick Morgan was appointed Finance Director in November 2012. Before joining Northern Petroleum, Nick spent over 13 years in investment banking where he focused on advising the international E&P industry. He specialised in advising upon mergers and acquisitions and providing equity capital markets advice and services to a broad range of global oil and gas companies, both public and private. For the last six years he was employed by Tristone Capital, the global energy investment bank, and latterly GMP Securities. Nick qualified as a chartered accountant at Price Waterhouse and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Iain Lanaghan 1(Website).jpg

Iain Lanaghan, 61 Senior Non-executive Director

Iain Lanaghan joined as a Non-executive Director in February 2014. He has specialised in growing and financing companies. In oil & gas his experience has included being Finance Director of Faroe Petroleum plc and of private equity backed Atlantic Power, which he led to a successful trade sale. His non-executive roles are as founder and chairman of Metropolitan European Transport, one of Germany's largest private bus operators, and director of UK Government owned National Nuclear Laboratory and DE&S. In April 2017 he will join the Board of Scottish Water. His Finance Director roles have included FirstGroup plc and PowerGen International. He is a chartered accountant, having qualified with KPMG.

Campbell Airlie 1 (Website).jpg

Campbell Joseph Airlie, 58  Non-executive Director

Campbell Airlie was appointed as a Non-executive Director in December 2016. Campbell has 36 years’ experience as a petroleum engineer with extensive time spent in upstream field development strategy and implementation. His career has included reservoir and production management and technical excellence roles with Schlumberger, BP, Edinburgh Petroleum Services and most recently as founder and Chief Technical Officer of Seven Energy. Campbell has worked globally, including time spent on redevelopment assets in Alberta, Canada. He has also been a Distinguished Lecturer in Asset Management with the Society of Petroleum Engineers and a visiting lecturer in reservoir engineering and production optimisation at Heriot Watt University.